an internet pop thing since 2005. phila pa.

There aren’t many better ways to start off a brand new week than with a brand new Veronica Falls single! “Nobody There,” recorded to celebrate their upcoming Fall tour, is more of that perfect, chugging, sunny day pop that can be found all throughout ‘Waiting For Something To Happen’.



Joanna Gruesome - “Sugarcrush” (live at Pianos, CMJ 2013)

This is the greatest fucking thing and I am kicking myself right in the face for not being able to see JGRO this week.



A Monthly Mix: October 2013!


Apologies for being almost TWO weeks late on my favorite mix-making month of the year! It could have come sooner, but making it last week—with October temperatures in the high 80s—just felt terribly wrong. It’s down to mid 50s this week, though, so now it feels just right.

This month’s mix kicks off with a new one from DOE. All heavy-fuzz, yells and feedback squalls—exactly how any respectable October mix should open, right? Following that there’s Tsunami, Places To Hide (arguably the best song from one of the best records of the year), and 13 others all waiting to get you into the Fall spirit. It’s cozy Mix season, Motherfuckers.


  1. DOE “Oh, Nostalgia!”
  2. Tsunami “Writing Letters”
  3. Places To Hide “Drugs”
  4. Sourpatch “Things You Say”
  5. The Autocollants “Butterscotch”
  6. Vomit Launch “Smokebreak”
  7. Mad Planets “Paperchase”
  8. The Arrogants “The Incurables”
  9. Siamese Twins “Don’t Forgive Lightly”
  10. The Mai 68s “Lead Me To A Quiet Cell”
  11. Lush “Ex”
  12. Joanna Gruesome “Candy”
  13. Containe “You”
  14. Holiday Flyer “Roll Those Eyes Over Here”
  15. Heavenly “Different Day”
  16. Confetti “Corduroy” (Wedding Present cover)

I’m really, really, really happy about the massive amount of early Stereolab these dudes must be listening to. And just when you think maybe they’ve been listening to “John Cage Bubblegum” just a few too many times (as if that’s even possible), the chorus goes all powerpop and you’re like, “ok”.

This record needs to be in my hands ASAP.


Break It Up "We Have It"

Break It Up
We Have It

Philadelphia’s Break It Up—who’ve been hiding right under my nose for the past two years—have finally released their *fantastic* debut LP! And they’ll be playing it at their cd release/Tuesday Tune-Out tonight at PhilaMOCA!

As for the record: To my ears it’s one of the better records to come out of the city in a while! The trio of Casey Bell, Dan Morse, and Jen Sperling throw pop hook after pop; sometimes through fuzzy guitars and speedy drums, and sometimes, like on “We Hate It”, they, quite elegantly, take a page from one of Yo La Tengo’s more sprawling moments. Note: An egg shaker and a wall of guitars will get you VERY far in my book.

Get the record here!


Between Virginia Wing’s Extended Play 12” (A title reference to a reasonably accurate sonic touchpoint, perhaps?) and the recently released Shudder Pulps 7”, Faux Discx is kind of killing it this Fall.

The relatively new London four-piece by the name of Virginia Wing, already sound pretty damn surefooted in their pretty particular musical landscape—we’ll call it dirgey, dreamlike Metropolis underbelly rock. “Common Ground” calls up alternating images of shadowy, shuddering treelines and monstrous pistons pumping away in some great noir-kraut mystery machine. But it also sounds like Broadcast, I guess. Listen to it right now.


Well, this Friday just got a million times better! In a pretty surprising announcement, we now have a new Swearin’ song to fall in love with and an early November (5th on Salinas in the US, 4th on Wichita in the UK) release date to get excited about! And if the effortless, Pavement-y coolness of “Watered Down” is any indication, then I think I’ve already got my go-to Winter 2013 record sorted. Get ready for those endlessly charming “Right now it’s easy to see it/And I know why you’re hiding” harmonies to get stuck in your head asap. This is perfect crunchy leaves music.


The Lodger "Fast"

The Lodger

Though the endlessly wonderful Birthday Kiss (responsible for one of the very best pop singles of this year) seem to be no more, the return of Ben Siddall’s original indiepop venture, The Lodger, is definitely helping to heal the wounds. It’s been three years since we last heard from The Lodger, but the driving jangle of new single “Fast”—available for FREE download—sees Siddall’s pop chops still very much in top form!


WELL THEN, it seems we’re finally getting some real details! In a year that’s seen more classic Indiepop reissues than anyone could have ever possibly expected (House of Love boxset on Optic Nerve, anyone?!), I suppose it’s only right that Talulah Gosh are finally getting the proper retrospective treatment. Was It Just A Dream? comes c/o Damaged Goods Records and includes an extensive collection of radio sessions, demos, singles and LP tracks—all topped off with archive photos and sure-to-be-brilliant liner notes by the one and only Everett True.

Release is scheduled for November 4th, but keep an eye on Damaged Goods for more details! And oh yeah, it’ll be on vinyl.